Previous Exemplar Projects| 2020/21 | 2019/20 | 2018/19 | 2017/18 | 2016/17 | 2015/16

web-banner-1_edited.jpg

Bevan Exemplars

The Call for Cohort 7 is now closed. Thank you for your interest and watch out for the announcements

This year's theme:

Doing Things Differently for a Prudent Sustainable Recovery

​The Bevan Exemplar programme is kindly supported by the Health Boards and NHS Trusts across Wales.

What is a Bevan Exemplar?

Bevan Exemplars are health and care staff from across Wales who are supported by the Bevan Commission to develop and test their own innovative ideas over a 12-month period.

The Bevan Exemplar programme is open to anyone working in NHS Wales, Social Care Wales, Local Government or within Regional Partnership Boards.

​The Bevan Exemplar programme is kindly supported by the Health Boards and NHS Trusts across Wales.

This Year's Theme: Doing Things Differently for a Prudent, Sustainable Recovery

In the past, projects have covered a wide range of disciplines and specialties. Project ideas may include innovative products, processes, services, ways of working, models, interventions or skills development across health and social care settings.

This year, we encouraged ideas and projects aligned with:

  • Using digital and technological solutions to do things differently

  • Working in different ways and with different people

  • A different approach to reduce waste and achieve sustainable health and care without harm

  • Cutting bureaucracy, empowering people and managing shared risks 

  • Developing innovative actions around shared priorities, such as connecting with hard to reach groups

  • Collaborating to make the most of all skills and resources and doing only what’s needed

  • Priorities consistent within local organisations and collaborative working

 

Following the call, we are now working with the organisations to review applications and hold a selection panel in August 2021 to make our final decisions. Successful applicants will start on 30 September 2021.

Organisational Lead Contact Details

Aneurin Bevan University Health Board - Tom James (Thomas.James3@wales.nhs.uk)

Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board - Dr Lynne Grundy (Lynne.Grundy@wales.nhs.uk)

Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board - Dr Tom Powell (Tom.Powell2@wales.nhs.uk)

Cardiff and Vale University Health Board - Dr Mark Briggs (Mark.Briggs@wales.nhs.uk)

Hywel Dda University Health Board - The Innovation and Research Team - Elin Brock (Elin.Brock@wales.nhs.uk), Dr Rachel Gemine (Rachel.E.Gemine@wales.nhs.uk), Richard Davies (Richard.m.davies@wales.nhs.uk)

Swansea Bay University Health Board - Christine Morrell (Christine.Morrell@wales.nhs.uk)

Powys Teaching Health Board - Howard Cooper (Howard.Cooper@wales.nhs.uk)

Public Health Wales - Mark Griffiths (Mark.Griffiths5@wales.nhs.uk) or Rhiannon Beaumont Wood (Rhiannon.Beaumont-Wood@wales.nhs.uk)

Welsh Ambulance Services NHS Trust - Grayham Mclean (Grayham.Mclean@wales.nhs.uk)

Velindre University NHS Trust - Libby Batt (Libby.batt@wales.nhs.uk)

Social Care Wales - Sue Evans (Sue.Evans@SocialCare.Wales)

Cohort 6 presented their work online on 30 June 2021. Watch their presentations online. Read more about the projects that have been completed over the 5 years

Watch the review presentation for Cohort 6

Presented by Professor Nick Rich, Swansea University and presenting findings from the rapid 6 month programme that was specially put into place as a response to Covid-19