Bevan Commission appoints two Vice Chairs


The Bevan Commission is delighted to announce the appointment of Professor Ilora Baroness Finlay of Llandaff, and Dr Chris Martin, as Vice Chairs.

Professor Ilora Baroness Finlay of Llandaff and Dr Chris Martin

The Bevan Commission, Wales’ leading health and care think tank, was established by Professor Sir Mansel Aylward in 2008 to ensure that Wales can draw upon the best health and care practice from around the world. It is hosted and supported by the University of Swansea.

A newly created post, the position of Vice Chair supports the Bevan Commission Chair and co-founder, Professor Sir Mansel Aylward, who becomes Chair Emeritus.

Baroness Finlay, previously a Bevan Commissioner, and Dr Chris Martin, who served as Deputy Chair, are to respectively lead the research and operational strategies for the think tank at a critical time for health and care in Wales, as services begin their recovery from the Covid-19 pandemic.

Commenting, Sir Mansel, Chair Emeritus of the Bevan Commission said: “I am honoured to have the support of such fine leaders as we move forward with our work in the Commission. The wealth of experience and expertise they bring will provide invaluable support to me personally and an added impetus and momentum to make a difference to the health and well-being of people in Wales.’’

Bevan Commission Director, Helen Howson, said: “We are delighted to have the support of two excellent individuals in the Commission as it moves forward with its agenda of sustainable recovery in Wales. They bring very different and complementary skills and experiences and together they will ensure that Professor Sir Mansel Aylward and the Commission have the supporting leadership and insight to inform policy and practice in securing health and care fit for the future in Wales.’’

Baroness Finlay, a Deputy Speaker and Deputy Chair of Committees in the House of Lords and Professor at the Velindre Cancer Centre and Cardiff University, said: “I am delighted to take on this important role, particularly as we refresh our research into the causes of population ill-health and the most prudent, optimal approaches to health and care post-Covid. Our priorities will include strengthening collaboration and integration with people across services and communities for physical and mental wellbeing, supporting our future leaders to think and work differently, and embedding innovative approaches and technologies to secure a sustainable and green recovery. Despite the challenges ahead, Wales is ideally placed to forge a healthier Wales.

Dr Chris Martin, a pharmacist by background and Chair of Life Science Hub Wales, said: “I want to ensure that the Bevan Commission continues to be a well-respected and authoritative think tank that has a sustainable future ensuring it is relevant, effectual and delivers demonstrable, tangible outcomes for patients and the public across the Principality and beyond.”

Contact: Dan Richards-Doran, Communications and Engagement Lead, Bevan Commission

About Baroness Finlay of Llandaff

Baroness Finlay is currently a Deputy Speaker and a Deputy Chair of Committees in the House of Lords, Consultant at the Velindre Cancer Centre in Cardiff and Honorary Professor of Palliative Medicine at Cardiff University. A vigorous champion for improving the care of dying patients, her work as a Crossbench Peer in the House of Lords includes changing government policies on organ donation and sunbed regulation, reducing the harms from alcohol, and tackling carbon monoxide poisoning. Ilora also chaired the Select committee inquiry on Allergy and is a member of the current All Party Parliamentary Group inquiry into Covid-19.

About Dr Chris Martin

Dr Chris Martin is Chair for Life Science Hub Wales, Chair and Non-Executive Director for the Welsh Government’s ESNR Audit and Risk Committee, and a Trustee for Marie Curie UK. Originally a pharmacist, Chris has extensive public sector experience having chaired four separate health organisations in Wales. Chris is a champion for healthcare innovation and has served as Bevan Commission Deputy Chair since 2014.