We welcome four new leading health experts as Bevan Commissioners

The Bevan Commission has welcomed four leading health experts as their new Bevan Commissioners.

The new four Commissioners are Professor Kamila Hawthorne MBE, Professor Hywel Thomas, Baroness Ilora Finlay and Dame Sue Bailey.

These four eminent health leaders join the ranks of our international experts which include Sir Michael Marmot, Professor Don Berwick, Professor Trevor Jones and our chair Professor Sir Mansel Aylward CB.

Professor Kamila Hawthorne MBE, is a GP, Professor of Medical Education at the University of Surrey, and Vice Chair at the Royal College of GPs.

Professor Hawthorne said: “I am delighted to be joining the Bevan Commission and will be putting my experience as a Welsh GP together with my time involved in medical education, medical training and medical politics to good use for the people of Wales.

“I am passionate about general practice and its ability to provide excellent healthcare for communities and populations, as the bedrock of a quality NHS.

“At a time when general practice is under a great deal of strain, I hope that by being a part of the Commission I will be in a position to help steer it into a calmer and more stable position which helps underpin the whole healthcare service in Wales.”

Professor Hywel Thomas is Pro Vice-Chancellor for Research, Innovation and Engagement at Cardiff University. He is also a Professor of Civil Engineering, Director of the Geoenvironmental Research Centre (GRC) and a UNESCO Professor in the Development of a Sustainable Geo-environment.

Professor Thomas is responsible for the development of the university’s Research, Innovation and Engagement strategy working with Research Councils and other funders, alongside commercialising the university’s research. He is also a board member for the GW4 Consortium of Universities, which aims to develop new knowledge with the capacity to make positive change.

Professor the Baroness Finlay of Llandaff is a Professor of Palliative Medicine at Cardiff University. She established the Diploma/MSc in Palliative Medicine, President of the Chartered Society for Physiotherapy, Vice-President of Hospice UK and of Marie Curie Care, Past-President of BMA, RSM and Association for Palliative Medicine. Baroness Finlay also chairs the National Mental Capacity Forum for Ministry of Justice and Department of Health.

She became a life-Peer in 2001, served on Select Committee on Assisted Dying for the Terminally Ill; now co-Chairs think-tank Living and Dying Well and is a Deputy Speaker in the House of Lords.

Dame Sue Bailey lives and works in Manchester. After studying medicine and psychiatry at the University of Manchester she worked as a Child and Adolescent psychiatrist for over thirty years. Professor Dame Bailey’s national health policy and research work has focused on needs assessment and risk management across health and social care.

She is Chair of the Children and Young People’s Mental Health Coalition, Honorary Professor of Mental Health Policy at the University of Central Lancashire, Chair of the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges, Senior Clinical Advisor for Mental Health at Health Education England, External Advisor to the Minister of Health and Social Care for the Review of CAMHS in Wales. Until very recently, she was a Consultant Child and Adolescent Forensic Psychiatrist at Greater Manchester West NHS Foundation Trust.

She was President of the Royal College of Psychiatrists from 2011 to 2014. During her time as President she worked with health and social care professionals, patients and carers to bring about Parity of Esteem between mental and physical health. She was made an OBE in 2002 for services to Mental Health and young offenders and in 2013 made a DBE for services to Psychiatry and for voluntary service to People with Mental Health Conditions.

Bevan Commission Director Helen Howson said she was delighted to welcome such experts to the Commission. She said: “Our Commissioners are made up of international experts who all give their time to ensure we are challenging current NHS thinking and practice. The expertise, enthusiasm and energy of our four new Commissioners will be invaluable to the work of the Commission.”

  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

© 2020 by Bevan Commission. All rights reserved
© 2020 gan Gomisiwn Bevan. Cedwir pob hawl.