Bevan Exemplars Programme

Changemakers transforming health and care from within

The Bevan Commission’s Exemplar Programme supports health and care professionals to take their great prudent healthcare ideas and translate them into practice. Our 12-month programme provides training and mentorship to inform thinking and develop skills so Exemplars can transform health and care services from within, having positive impacts on patient care, lived experiences, health outcomes and on service efficiency.

What is a Bevan Exemplar?

Bevan Exemplars are health and care staff from across Wales who are supported by the Bevan Commission to develop and test their own innovative ideas over a 12-month period. The Bevan Exemplar programme is open to anyone working in NHS Wales, Social Care Wales, Local Government or within Regional Partnership Boards. ​The Bevan Exemplar programme is kindly supported by the Health Boards and NHS Trusts across Wales.

Dr Oliver Blocker
quotation icon

We’ve transformed the patient experience and the models of care we provide in the hospital environment.

Dr Oliver Blocker

Orthopaedic Surgeon, Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board

Cohort 7: Doing things differently for a prudent, sustainable recovery

For 2021/22, the Cohort 7 Exemplars are exploring ideas and projects aligned with:​

  • Using digital and technological solutions to do things differently.
  • Working in different ways and with different people.
  • A different approach to reduce waste and achieve sustainable health and care without harm.
  • Cutting bureaucracy, empowering people and managing shared risks.
  • Developing innovative actions around shared priorities, such as connecting with hard to reach groups.
  • Collaborating to make the most of all skills and resources and doing only what’s needed.
  • Priorities consistent within local organisations and collaborative working.

Cohort 6 Showcase

After a challenging year, our latest cohort of Bevan Exemplars presented their innovative projects at a Bevan Commission showcase. From tackling the Covid-19 backlog to promoting the use of video-based Children’s Physiotherapy, our ‘fast-track’ Bevan Exemplars have demonstrated improvements and impact across a range of disciplines, against the backdrop of Covid-19.

Programme Evaluations

Professor Nick Rich, Swansea University, evaluates each cohort of the Exemplar Programme.

Organisational Leads:

  • Aneurin Bevan University Health Board – Tom James (
  • Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board – Dr Lynne Grundy (
  • Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board – Dr Tom Powell (
  • Cardiff and Vale University Health Board – Dr Mark Briggs (
  • Hywel Dda University Health Board – The Innovation and Research Team – Elin Brock (, Dr Rachel Gemine (, Richard Davies (
  • Swansea Bay University Health Board – Christine Morrell (
  • Powys Teaching Health Board – Howard Cooper (
  • Public Health Wales – Mark Griffiths ( or Rhiannon Beaumont Wood (
  • Welsh Ambulance Services NHS Trust – Grayham Mclean (
  • Velindre University NHS Trust – Libby Batt (
  • Social Care Wales – Sue Evans (Sue.Evans@SocialCare.Wales)